Alexandria police will conduct a roaming enforcement effort to deter and apprehend intoxicated drivers.
The DWI crackdown will begin at 8 p.m. Friday, Sept. 27 and continue until 6 a.m. Saturday.
Police will stop motorists to assure that their abilities to drive have not been impaired by alcohol or drugs.
The maximum penalty in Virginia for the first conviction for driving under the influence is 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges.
In addition, there are mandatory jail terms associated with these offenses, depending upon the blood alcohol content of the driver. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administrative fees may apply as well.